Bernard J. Tyson Award Now Accepting Applications


Bernard J. Tyson Award Now Accepting Applications

The Joint Commission in Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois, and Kaiser Permanente, headquartered in San Francisco, California, are now accepting applications for the 2023 Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity, according to a release. This year’s application period is open from March 15 through May 10, 11:59 pm CT, and there is no cost to apply.

Bernard J. Tyson, the late chief executive officer and chair of Kaiser Permanente, worked to address healthcare disparities in the US healthcare system. Now in its third year, the award recognizes a healthcare organization for an intervention that led to a measurable and sustained reduction in at least one healthcare disparity, according to the release.

All types of healthcare organizations that directly deliver healthcare and have addressed disparities for any vulnerable population, including, but not limited to, race/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation or socioeconomic status, may apply. In their application, organizations must provide data demonstrating how they have improved a disparity.

The award presents the opportunity for national recognition as well as to share best practices with thousands of healthcare organizations across the country. Visit the Tyson Award webpage for more information and to submit an application. There are several resources available for applicants, including

  • an application preview;
  • last year’s winning applications; and
  • an application tip sheet.

Last year’s award recipients included NYC Health + Hospitals, whose NYC Care program expanded healthcare access to underserved populations, including the undocumented; and Texas Children’s Pavilion for Women, whose initiative resulted in a significant decrease in severe maternal morbidity from hemorrhage among Black women, according to the release.

Interested applicants may write with questions.