Applications Now Open for Eisenberg Awards


Applications Now Open for Eisenberg Awards

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) are now accepting applications for the 2023 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards through August 7, according to a release. The annual award program recognizes major achievements by individuals and organizations that use innovative approaches to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

Awards are presented in three categories, according to the release:

  • Individual Achievement
  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality
  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality

Those eligible for the Individual Achievement award will have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and healthcare quality through a substantive body of work.

Initiatives or projects eligible for the national and local level awards will have involved successful system changes or interventions that make the environment of care safer or that advocate on the patient’s behalf. These innovative efforts may address new technologies, protocols, procedures, education, organizational culture, legislation, the media, patient advocacy, systems theory or another area. Organizations applying must have at minimum one year (12 months) of data supporting the improvement made by the featured initiative.

Through the award program, The Joint Commission and NQF also seek to amplify best practices in patient safety and quality improvement by sharing strategies and tools identified within applications with its network of more than 22,000 healthcare organizations to inspire improvement on a national scale, according to the release.

Last year’s award recipients included Jason S. Adelman, MD, of NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center and Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, North American Partners in Anesthesia's Anesthesia Risk Alerts program and Parkland Health’s Extending Maternal Care After Pregnancy initiative.

Launched in 2002, this award program honors the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). An impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement, Eisenberg was a founding member of NQF’s board of directors.

The 2023 recipients will be recognized at NQF’s next annual conference in February 2024, according to the release.

For more information, write